Skip to content


Map of New Zealand, with the Waikato region highlighted


Nestled in the heart of the Waikato, Hamilton is a modern, innovative and vibrant city – a city of growth and opportunity, and the perfect place to build your future.

Explore Hamilton


The Hauraki District is home to many natural, cultural and historical taonga, making it a wonderful place to live, work and play for its 21,000 residents as well as a great place to visit. Our vibrant business community includes small family businesses through to large exporters.

Explore Hauraki
Te Aroha WEB


The Matamata-Piako District lies in the heart of the Waikato and is well-known for its dairy farming, Industry leaders, thoroughbred racing industry and as the home of Hobbiton.

Explore Matamata-Piako


Otorohanga is proud to be the kiwiana capital of New Zealand, home to the world famous Kiwi House & Native Bird Park. Our 10,000 plus residents enjoy a wonderful way of life and the benefits of a vibrant, friendly small town and rural lifestyle.

Explore Ōtorohanga
South Waikato

South Waikato

South Waikato district lies at the heart of New Zealand’s North Island, showcasing natural beauty and an easy going lifestyle. Our stunning lakes, rolling green hills, beautiful forests and lack of a single traffic light provides residents with an idyllic lifestyle and perfect work-life balance.

Explore South Waikato
WS-Taupo-Huka Falls aerial view (1) WEB


Nau mai, haere mai. Welcome to Taupō. At the centre of our district is sparkling Lake Taupō, the great inland sea of New Zealand. Travel around and you will find three towering volcanoes in the landscape of Tongariro National Park and the thundering Huka Falls.

Explore Taupō
Cathedral Cove NZ copy


The Coromandel Peninsula is the jewel in New Zealand's crown and is a fantastic place to visit or live. White sand beaches, a warm climate, close to the main centres and surrounded by native flora and fauna.

Explore Thames-Coromandel


The Waikato is a dynamic district that is home to significant environmental, infrastructure and community resources. We’re proud to be home to the Kiingitanga and are one of the country’s fastest growing districts. Best of all, the Waikato is a welcoming place.

Explore Waikato


Cambridge and Te Awamutu is committed to continued strong growth with Waipa Council approving $186 million in infrastructure development in the 2020 – 21 years.

Explore Waipā
Waitomo WDC


The Waitomo District encompasses 354,649 hectares of predominantly rural land on the west coast of the Central North Island and is known for adventure and natural beauty – both above and below the ground.

Explore Waitomo
Hamilton Hauraki Matamata-Piako Ōtorohanga South Waikato Taupō Thames-Coromandel Waikato Waipā Waitomo

Mighty Waikato

The Waikato region’s 10 districts and city sit at the heart of an area that is home to more than half New Zealand’s population. Quality infrastructure and easy access to the rest of the country, including the export ports of Auckland and Tauranga, enable easy movement of goods, services, people and ideas.

If you would like more information please contact us