Skip to content

Winners of Fieldays Online Innovation Awards 2020 announced

Innovation is not easy, it requires courage and a willingness to take on risk, yet it is also fundamental to the overall sustainability of any business or industry. It is necessary if we wish to solve todays problems and prepare the ground for solving tomorrows. Fieldays Innovation Awards put a spotlight on Kiwi ingenuity as well as international innovation, while showcasing cutting edge ideas that benefit the Primary Industry.

Young Inventor of the Year Award

Winner: St Paul’s Collegiate School - James Barker, Thomas Glenn, William Cowan, and Curtly Harper

Name of innovation: Flash Flow

  • Runner up: Kate Cregoe
  • Name of innovation: Sheep Stencil


  • Runner up: St Paul’s Collegiate School - Molly Nelson, Ellis Watson, Libby Deadman, Lucy Fullerton-Smith
  • Name of innovation: Ewe-nique Recognition

Vodafone Digital Innovation Award

Winner: Tussock Innovation

Name of innovation: Waterwatch Live

Callaghan Innovation Partnership and Collaboration Award

Winner: Ecolibrium Biologicals Ltd

Name of innovation: Lateral

Amazon Web Services Innovation in Data Award

Winner: Fleetpin Ltd

Name of innovation: Fleetpin Rollover Safety System

James & Wells Innovation Award

Winner: Hivesite

Name of innovation: Autonomous chemical-free Varroa Mite Treatment

Innovation Prototype Award - There are three finalists in the Prototype Awards. One of these finalists wins the GrassRoots Prototype Award and one wins the Established Prototype Award


  • Hivesite - Autonomous chemical-free Varroa Mite Treatment
  • AgriSea NZ - BioactiveN
  • AgResearch - Mobile Scanning Electric Vehicle Enhancement (MSEVEN)

Grassroots Prototype Award Winner: Hivesite

Established Prototype Award Winner: AgriSea NZ

Innovation Launch Award

Winner: Antahi Innovations Ltd.

Name of innovation: Trusti Colostrum Management System

  • Runner up: Ballance Agri-Nutrients
  • Name of innovation: SurePhos

Innovation International Award

Winner: MagGrow

Name of innovation: MagGrow

  • Runner up: DeLaval
  • Name of innovation: Evanza

To see the full list of Fieldays Innovation Award entries go to:

Have a story to share?

The Waikato is full of people and businesses doing great things. Their stories help build our understanding of the strength of the Waikato and the benefits of living, studying, visiting or doing business here.